Best burgers in London

The subject of burgers is a very controversial one so to avoid any burger anger, I’ll hold my hands up and say I’m no expert, I just love a good burger and these are my personal favourites.

1) Mother Flipper

F4552AE5-5ED8-44C0-AAAA-D4D221277BB2

This place is incredible. It’s a street food pop up located in Brockley Market every Saturday from 10am to 2pm. I travelled 1.5 hours to try it as I’d heard how good it was and oh my it lived up!

They offer a relatively standard menu ranging from cheeseburgers with various add ons from £7 up to the Double Barbie priced at £10. I went all in and had the Double Barbie made up of: double patty, american cheese, candy bacon, candy onions and homemade BBQ sauce.

Watching closely, I could see that after they cooked and constructed the burger, they placed it back on the grill (including bread) and covered it over for 20 seconds or so. This made the burger almost cook in it own juices and slightly steam the bread to make it all extra juicy.

Hand on heart, the best burger I’ve had in London and possibly in the UK. Would highly recommend – enjoy!

2) Patty and Bun

Patty and Bun 8_16749

In all honesty, I’d say the flavour of Patty and Bun is completely on par with Mother Flipper. The only thing that drops it down to number two is that they are quite greasy, making them messy to eat and difficult to pick up.

Menu wise, it’s quite a standard set up of cheeseburgers, chicken and mushroom but they do throw in a lamb curve ball, all priced between £8 and £9.

I always opt for the Smokey Robinson: beef patty, cheese, tomato, lettuce, mounds of caramelised onions, bacon, ketchup, Smokey P&B mayo, brioche. It’s smokey, packed with flavour and so juicy. Try with the rosemary salt fries, they are awesome!

3) Meat Mission

Part of the MEATLiqor group, Meat Mission is located in Hoxton and has an amazing gothic, church feel to the restaurant. It’s quite dark in there so make sure you eat your carrots before you go or take lots of pictures so you can use the light of your phone screen!

I went for the green chile cheeseburger which is made up of a patty, cheese, spicy chili butter, red onions, pickles, lettuce, french mustard and ketchup. It’s really moist and the meat is a little on the greasy side, making the flavour even better.

I believe the big favourite there is the Dead Hippy, consisting of 2 french mustard fried patties, dead hippy sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles and minced white onions but as I’m not a mustard fan, it’s not for me. However, it was revealed to be Deliveroo’s most popular London order this week.

Prices range from £8-£9 for single and double patties so really good value for money!

4) Byron

Technically, Byron is a national chain but as I’ve only been there in London, I’m going to include it.

As an always on option, I go for the chilli – patty, American cheese, shredded iceberg lettuce and chipole mayo. It’s really damn tasty and the burgers are between £7-£9 which is really cheap.

But, if you want something really special, keep an eye out for the BRex or seasonal Merry Cheesemas. Both double patties smothered in cheese with various extras. Price is more around the £10 but definitely worth it.

5) Dirty Burger

I’ve only been here once and I’ll hold my hands up and say the burgers here are quite plain but, in a good way. They don’t mess around and don’t need loads of toppings, cheese and sauce to bring out the flavour.

I went for the dirty bacon which is a patty, bacon and cheese for £7. It wasn’t greasy and the flavour just worked. You can have a cheeseburger for £6 or double up on either for an extra £3 – really, really good choice if you want the focus to be just on the meat.

Another nice option from these guys is crinkle cut chips and onion fries. Again, pretty simple but the flavour is there for a ‘vanilla’ burger experience.

Next on the list

I haven’t been yet but Stokey Bears in Stoke Newington and Dip and Flip in Battersea/Brixton are next on my list. Both look amazing and I’ve heard really good things.

Would not recommend

Sorry to say it as they both have such a good reputation but Honest Burger and Bleecker did not get my vote. Really overrated, quite rare and lack flavour.

Leave a Reply

