Best brunches in London

London is jam-packed with amazing brunch places. Bottomless ones, healthy ones, buffet ones, greasy ones – you name it, we have it.

I’ve eaten at so many amazing brunch places so as hard as it was to pick, here are my five favourite places:

1 – Dishoom

This place mixes typical British dishes and sides and blends them with authentic flavours of Mumbai.

For example, a typical bacon sandwich has the roll swapped out for naan bread and comes with coriander and a side of sweet jam ketchup. It’s absolutely amazing and even better topped with a fried egg.

The masala beans are also incredible – basically a spicy version of baked beans. As it the fire toast and Bombay omelette. There’s loads of stuff that I haven’t tried yet but have at the top of my list. If you go as a group, I’d recommend getting plates to share so that you can try a bit of everything.

Drinks wise, I’d say the best ever flat white I’ve had was from Dishoom. So velvety and packed full of flavour! I’m not a massive tea drinker but if you are, there is a great range of spiced and regular teas.

Make sure you reserve a table for brunch as they are so popular! There are four restaurants across the city – Kings Cross, Shoreditch, Covent Garden and Carnaby. Enjoy!

2 – Eastway

This is a bit of a hidden gem and somewhere I don’t tell many people about… apart from now. It’s located just round the corner from Liverpool Street station and is part of the Andaz hotel.

The menu is really varied and the prices are very reasonable. I’d highly recommend the smoked salmon bagel – it’s piled high and so tasty.

No matter what you order from the menu, you can help yourself to unlimited homemade bread and mini pastries. Even better, they have a ‘make your own’ Bloody Mary bar for just £5! Bargain.

You can book Eastway the same week for brunch and being in the business district, it’s generally quite peaceful on a Saturday.

3 – Caravan

There are a few branches of Caravan dotted around the city – Kings Cross, Exmouth Market and Bankside. For me, the best one for brunch is Kings Cross, located in Granary Square.

I’m pretty obsessed with eggs so always go for the baked eggs with chorizo served with a spicy tomato sauce and brown toast!

I also recommend the jalapeño cornbread and swan smoked salmon. To make it extra special, enjoy with a glass of prosecco.

Caravan is pretty famous for coffee and I’ve bought several bags of beans for presents and to grind at home so be prepared to order an extra cup or two.

Make sure you book in advance as the Kings Cross branch is incredibly popular, especially in summer.

4 – Sunday

I’ve only been to Sunday once but it really stuck in my head. It’s a little more hidden away (on Hemingford Road, Highbury) and not that close to the tube but it’s really worth the trip.

Make sure you visit outside of popular times as it’s quite small so you have to queue outside BUT the food is awesome.

I went for the mixed chorizo, potatoes, chilli, coriander, eggs and avocado on toast and it was bouncing with flavour.

The menu has been updated a few times since and next on my list is the cornbread with halloumi, avocado, poached eggs and chilli.

5 – Duck and Waffle

Number five is Duck and Waffle. If I’m completely honest, I mainly put this down because of the restaurant itself and view from 38 floors up. The vibe is really trendy and modern, the service is top notch and you feel really special.

The food itself is good but I’ve had better and portions are quite small. Technically, it’s on the boarder of fine dining so you expect to pay more for less because of your surroundings.

I’ve been a few times now and would recommend the Colombian eggs. Mixed with tomatoes and herbs and served with avocado and toast, it’s really flavoursome but make sure you order a side of chorizo.

I’ve had the signature dish of Duck and Waffle but for me, it doesn’t work as I’m not into fried egg and syrup. BUT I know people that love it so definitely give it a try.

Make sure you book for weekend brunch two months in advance. Weekday, you might be lucky with a month in advance.

Leave a Reply

